

्रट्यः क्षेत्रः स्वतः त्रवा

ROYAL GOVERNMENT-OF BHUTAN MINISTRY OF FINANCE TASHICHHO DZONG

MoF/FS-18/2022-33/541

2nd October, 2022

NOTIFICATION

Subject: Reorganization of the Ministry of Finance

The Ministry of Finance based on the Government approval received through the Royal Civil Service Commission letter No.RCSC/CSR/2022/1076 dated 28th September 2022 to enhance resource mobilization, ensure efficient resource allocation and strengthen public financial management for a sustained macroeconomic growth by avoiding overlapping mandates is reorganized as follows:

- 1. The Department of Macroeconomic Affairs (DMEA) is renamed as the **Department of Macro-fiscal and Development Finance** through the following reorganization:
 - a. The Development Cooperation Division (DCD) of the Gross National Happiness Commission Secretariat (GNHCS) is integrated with the Debt Management Division to form the 'Development Coordination and Debt Management Division'.
 - b. The two existing Divisions under the DMEA i.e. the Macroeconomic Policy Coordination & Surveillance Division and the Fiscal Policy Division are consolidated to form the 'Macro-Fiscal Division'.
 - c. The Divisions under the Department of Macro-fiscal and Development Finance are:
 - i. Macro-Fiscal Division,
 - ii. Development Coordination and Debt Management Division, and
 - iii. Investment and Corporate Governance Division.
 - d. The Department of Macro-fiscal and Development Finance shall be the nodal agency for development finance (aid coordination) and debt management function in the country and hence, all matters relating to development finance and debt management shall be routed through the Department of Macro-fiscal and Development Finance.
- 2. The Department of National Budget is renamed as the **Department of Planning**, **Budget and Performance (DPBP)** through the following reorganization:
 - a. The Local Development Division (LDD) and the Plan, Monitoring and Coordination Division (PMCD) of the GNHCS and the Government Performance Management Division (GPMD) of the Office of the Prime Minister are integrated with the Department of Planning, Budget and Performance.
 - b. The Divisions under the Department of Planning, Budget and Performance (DPBP) are:
 - i. Economic Cluster,
 - ii. Social Cluster,
 - iii. Security and Governance Cluster, and
 - iv. Local Government Division.

b/

THIMPHU, BHUTAN. Post Box No. 117, Ph: 322223, 322271,322514 Fax: 32315





न्यक्षेत्राञ्चतायम्।

ROYAL GOVERNMENT-OF BHUTAN MINISTRY OF FINANCE TASHICHHO DZONG

- c. Accordingly, the functions and mandates of the LDD and the PMCD of the GNHCS and the GPMD shall be delivered by the Department of Planning, Budget and Performance.
- 3. The Department of Public Accounts is renamed as the **Department of Treasury and Accounts** through the following reorganization:
 - a. The Fiscal Transfer and Monitoring Division (FTMD) is merged with the Treasury Management Division.
 - b. The Divisions under the Department of Treasury and Accounts are:
 - a. Treasury Management Division,
 - b. Accounts Division, and
 - c. Payment Management Services Division.
- 4. The Department of National Properties is renamed as the **Department of Procurement and Properties**.

The Notification shall come into effect from 2nd October, 2022.

The Ministry of Finance shall ensure to undertake this reorganization in the most seamless way without hindering service delivery to the public, but in the event of any issues or clarifications, kindly contact Chief PPD, MoF.

(Kesang Deki SECRETARY

Copy To:

- 1. Hon'ble Zimpon, Office of the Gyalpoi Zimpon, TashichhoDzong, Thimphu.
- 2. Hon'ble Prime Minister, Gyalyong Tshogkhang Thimphu for kind information.
- 3. Hon'ble Minister, All Ministries, Thimphu.
- 4. Hon'ble Auditor General, Royal Audit Authority, Thimphu.
- 5. Hon'ble Chairperson, Royal Civil Service Commission, Thimphu.
- 6. The Head of Constitutional Bodies, Thimphu.
- 7. All Government Secretaries, Thimphu.
- 8. The CEOs, DHI, SOEs, BCCI and NGOs.
- 9. The Head of International Agencies, Thimphu for information, Thimphu.
- 10. The Offtg Cabinet Secretary, Cabinet Secretariat, Gyalyong Tshogkhang, Thimphu.
- 11. Dzongdags, Thrompons and Gups and Head of Autonomous Agencies.